Pick of the Week Podcast

Pick of the Week Podcast – Episode #419 – B.P.R.D.: Hell on Earth – The Reign of the Black Flame #115

Show Notes

With Paul Montgomery out doing who knows what, old pal Jim Mroczkowski steps in to talk about the week in comic books with Josh Flanagan and Conor Kilpatrick!

Total Running Time: 01:03:33

Comics:BPRD Hell on Earth 115
00:01:28 – B.P.R.D.: Hell on Earth – The Reign of the Black Flame #115
00:11:54 – All-New X-Men #21
00:17:59 – The Superior Spider-Man #25
00:24:10 – The Illegitimates #2
00:27:15 – Superman/Wonder Woman #4
00:31:47 – Thunderbolts #20.NOW
00:34:43 – Ghosted #6
00:36:19 – Nova #15
00:38:00 – Velvet #3
00:40:23 – Justice League 3000 #2

Audience Questions:
00:42:33 – Wes from Newport, MN wants to know when comic books got mature for the iFanboys.
00:52:02 – Adrian from Australia wants to know how comic book creator behavior affects the iFanboys’ reading habits.

Sponsor:
Amazon – Get all your comics, DVDs, video games, electronics and more and help iFanboy out in the process!

Music:
“Who’ll Stop the Rain (with Bob Seger)”
John Fogerty

Download

http://traffic.libsyn.com/ifanboy/iFanbo...
(Right-click and choose "Save As..." and save locally)

Subscribe

Get Involved

Doing the podcast is fun and all, but let's be honest, listening to the 3 of us talk to each other can get repetitive, so we look to you, the iFanboy listeners to participate in the podcast! "How can I get in on the fun?" you may ask yourself, well here's how:

  • E-Mail us at contact@ifanboy.com with any questions, comments or anything that may be on your mind.

Please don't forget to leave your name and where you're writing from and each week, we'll pick the best e-mails to include on the podcast!

Comments

  1. superior spider-man has double-shipped almost every month. #1 was in january with the rest of marvel now.

  2. Superior Spider-Man started in January of 2012. It feels a lot longer than that, sadly, it hasn’t been.

    I too miss the days of yore when you could intuit how long a book has been out by the number on the cover. Now it is all funky. All of the following titles came out with new #1’s in the same month:

    All-New X-Men – #22
    Avengers – #25
    Deadpool: #22
    Captain America – #15
    Indestructible Hulk – #18
    Iron Man – #20
    Fantastic Four – #16
    Thor: God of Thunder – #18

    Just an eclectic assortment of numbers!

    Charles Soule is writing a lot of great books right now. I wonder if Marvel or DC have teased the idea of getting him to sign an exclusive contract with them. His work definitely justifies it.

    If you haven’t read it yet, you should check out Harbinger. I highly recommend it. The book is amazing. It just started a new arc with issue #20 and is a pretty good jumping on point. Of course, I think all of 8 of the Valiant books are top notch right now. They are as good or better than the stuff being churned out by Marvel and DC right now.

    If you want comedy, go for Quantum & Woody. If you like Action & Adventure, go for Archer & Armstrong. If you like Swampthing and Animal Man, check out Eternal Warrior. If you like the X-Men but want it to be a bit more realistic, read Harbinger. If you like big team up books (in the vein of Avengers or Justice League), hop on board with Unity. If you like mystical stuff, jump in with Shadownman. If you adore the Punisher and/or stories about soldiers with a fair bit of violence, you should read Bloodshot & the H.A.R.D. Corps. If you like stories about a 5th century barbarian wearing super powerful alien battle armor who has been whisked away to the present-day, then X-O Manowar is for you!

  3. Did anyone read the new Image book, EGOs? I wasn’t familiar enough with the creative team to pick it up, but wondered if I should give it a try. I know Stuart Moore was editor on a bunch of good Vertigo books back in the day (a lot of the titles Conor and Josh listed in their best-comics-year) but that’s my only touchstone.

    Nice to hear from Jim. Got some good belly-laughs out of his comments.

  4. Jim, you should get commission for the Marvel Unlimited subscription you convinced me to buy. Marvel, make it happen.

    Until then, enjoy your percentage of my amazon/ifanboy purchase of $6 worth of Curious George birthday party invites.

  5. As for the creators political views I actually find Dark Knight Returns even better because I now know how much of a crazy old dude Frank Miller is.

Leave a Comment