Submissions Open for 8th annual Isotope Award for Excellence in Mini-Comics

Isotope Award for Mini ComicsOne of the highlights of the year for the comics industry is the Isotope Award for Excellence in Mini-Comics, organized and awarded by the fine people behind Isotope Comics in San Francisco.  Unlike any other award out there, The Isotope award focuses on mini-comics and aspiring creators.  Past winners have gone on to get published by leading indie publishers, such as Josh Cotter (Skyscrapers of the Midwest from Ad House Books), Danica Novgorodoff (Slow Storm from First Second Books), and last year's winner, Will Dinski (Fingerprints from Top Shelf, on sale this month!) The Isotope Award is one of the few awards focused on breaking new talent in comics and if you're an aspiring creator, it's a great way to gain exposure for your work.

I'm super excited for this year because they have outdone themselves with the roster of judges:

Jann Jones – Former editor at DC Comics and Viz Media, Jann knows comics and proved it with her work at DC Comics, pushing for all ages books such as Tiny Titans and Billy Batson & The Magic of Shazam

Ed Luce – One of my favorite indie creators, Ed is the writer and artist of Wuvable Oaf, which is one of the best self published and amusing comics around.  Go check it out at

Brett Warnock – Co-publisher of Top Shelf Productions and the owner of one of the coolest sketch books I've ever seen, Brett is an avid supporter of indie comics.  Top Shelf is one of the best publishers around and we thank them for publishing Jeff Lemire's Essex County trilogy, one of the best indie books of the past decade

Kirsten Baldock – Special Projects Director at Isotope and the writer of Smoke and Guns, an excellent indie book with art by the talented Fabio Moon.  Ms. Baldock also makes an amazing cocktail

James Sime – Proprietor of Isotope – the comic book lounge in San Francisco and one of the most passionate about comics guys you'll ever meet.  Sime has changed the face of comic book retailing, while continuing to support independent comics.


With that all-star cast of judges, even if you don't win the award, you comics will be reviewed by seasoned pros of the comics industry and who knows what could happen? It's no coincidence that last year's winner, Will Dinski, ended up with a book published by Top Shelf, after Warnock was one of the judges.  Could that be you this year? Maybe!

Here's how you can enter:

Send five copies of your mini-comic to Isotope's address (326 Fell St. San Francisco, CA 94102) before the October 1st deadline.

The award will be given out at the grand ceremony during APE AFTERMATH at the Isotope in conjunction with San Francisco's ALTERNATIVE PRESS EXPO. Because of the nature of this award, the winner will be contacted in advance and must be present at the Isotope at 9 PM on Saturday, October 16th for the award presentation ceremony.
For more information contact the Isotope at (415) 621-6543 or at
And I'll be honest, I'd love it if someone from the iFanboy community broke into comics via this award, so start making your mini-comic and make me proud!