Light Week? Try THE ROCKETEER: CARGO OF DOOM #1, PROPHET VOL. 1, UNTOLD TALES OF THE PUNISHER MAX #3

So I, I turned the radio on, I turned the radio up and this woman was singing my song: Comics in love and the other’s run away, comics is crying ’cause the other won’t stay. Some of us hover when we weep for the other who was dying since the day they were born. Well, well, this is not that I think that I’m throwing, but I’m thrown. And I thought I’d live forever, but now I’m not so sure, You try to tell me that I’m clever But that won’t take me anyhow, or anywhere with you

You said that I was naive and I thought that I was strong I thought, “hey, I can leave, I can leave.” Oh, but now I know that I was wrong, ’cause I missed you. Yeah, I miss you.

You said, “You caught me ’cause you want me and one day you’ll let me go.” You try to give away a keeper, or keep me ’Cause you know you’re just so scared to lose.

And you say… “Comics”

Ron says try…

The Rocketeer: Cargo Of Doom #1

By Mark Waid, Chris Samnee & Jordie Bellaire

You love them on Daredevil, now see them on the most beloved of characters, The Rocketeer! Multiple Eisner winning writer Mark Waid is joined by one of our favorite artists, Chris Samnee to launch The Rocketeer into the first ongoing series of new stories outside of the two anthologies IDW has released Samnee is in top form, especially with the colors of Jordie Bellaire, making this one comic that I will be running to the shop to get my hands on this Wednesday.  Listen, I have a Rocketeer sketch/commission that Samnee did for me 2 years ago and it’s stunning. I can’t imagine what wonders will be in the pages of this comic. I can’t wait.

 

Conor says try…

Prophet, Vol. 1: Remission

By Brandon Graham,  Simon Roy, Farel Dalrymple, & Giannis Milogiannis

The most exciting place in comics right now is probably Image Comics and one of the most interesting and unusual books that they are currently publishing is Prophet. Now, I know you’ve heard about this book, and I know you’ve heard us talk about it. But maybe you missed the boat, maybe (probably) your store doesn’t carry it. Well, now you’re in luck. Image is very smartly putting out first volume trade paperbacks of most of their most buzzed about new series at a discounted rate: $9.99. You can’t beat that for a dollar. (Or something.)

Paul says try…

Untold Tales of Punisher MAX #3

By Megan Abbott, Matteo Baffagni

Just yesterday it was announced that Megan Abbott’s new novel Dare Me has been optioned for the big screen by Fox 2000. You can expect that story of a fractured high school cheerleading squad to outdo Mean Girls by several sadistic handsprings. But can she successfully trade the pom-pons for a couple of semi-automatics to relate a lost tale from the late Frank Castle’s violent past? Last week I spoke with the crime writer and film noir historian about her comics debut on our Don’t Miss podcast. This one-and-done story is the perfect addition to this week’s haul, especially for fans of Mitchum and Meeker style crime cinema. Abbott has smartly cast Frank as an ominous force of nature in this story of a suburban man struggling to evade his own past. If you like Brubaker’s work on Criminal or Sleeper, this is your jam.

Comments

  1. mrlogical mrlogical says:

    I have wanted to love the Rocketeer but it has never clicked with me (either the old stuff or the first volume of the Rocketeer Adventures or whatever the IDW anthology book was called). The art was uniformly excellent, but the story did absolutely nothing for me–Betty seemed like kind of an awful woman, and as many of the stories focused on Cliff trying to get or keep Betty’s interest, I just didn’t care. But if anyone can find what’s worth loving in a character, it’s Mark Waid, and Samnee’s art sure won’t hurt. I’m probably going to have to give this a shot.

  2. Thursday Thursday says:

    I was already excited for Rocketeer, but I am now definitely getting the Prophet trade too.

  3. Bryce31 Bryce31 says:

    I’m so glad I found out that Megan Abbot was writing a Punisher issue. I would’ve miss that completely without this site.

  4. Normally I go for the Punisher MAX one-shots so I’m not sure why I haven’t gone for what is, essentially, a mini full of one shots.

    But I’m really fucking stupid for not pulling Rocketeer. Can’t believe I forgot about it.