Heads Up: Image Comics Previews – November 2012

Being a comic fan can be tough. With so many publishers printing more and more books, canceling titles and starting new ones, it can be daunting when you head to the comic book shop on a Wednesday to know exactly what’s coming out.

The current system of presenting and ordering comics three months ahead of their release as set forth by the sole comics distributor, Diamond Comics, doesn’t make it any easier either. We’re not a fan of that system, we think it’s slowly strangling comics to death, but we realize it’s a harsh reality of how the industry works and we definitely don’t want you to miss out on any of the cool comics being published.

And so, as opposed to regurgitating the list of comics solicited in Previews each month, we present to you some of the highlights of things you probably won’t want to miss out on.

SPOILER WARNING - in order to get people to order comics, the publishers have a funny habit of revealing what’s happening in the books. If you don’t want anything at all to be spoiled, then you’ll probably want to skip this post and take your chances with your pre-orders and/or your shopping.


More of the “NEW”

Leading the charge on another month of new comics series from Image Comics, publisher Eric Stephenson puts his money where his mouth is and returns to writing with Nowhere Men, along with art by Nate Bellegarde and colors by the talented Jordie Bellaire to bring us this intriguing new series which positions science as the new rock-n-roll.  With a great retro/Saul Bass inspired look to the cover, this series is definitely the most anticipated from Image for November.

NOWHERE MEN #1
story ERIC STEPHENSON
art NATE BELLEGARDE & JORDIE BELLAIRE
cover NATE BELLEGARDE & FONOGRAFIKS

NOVEMBER 21
32 PAGES / FC / T+
$2.99

“SCIENCE IS THE NEW ROCK ‘N’ ROLL.” So said Dade Ellis, Simon Grimshaw, Emerson Strange and Thomas Walker at the dawn of a new age of enlightenment that ushered in a boom in scientific advancement. As the research supergroup World Corp., they became the most celebrated scientists of all time. They changed the world – and we loved them for it. But where did it all go wrong? And when progress is made at any and all cost, who ultimately pays the price?

 

Double interesting to see Clone #1 coming from Robert Kirkman’s Skybound imprint, first because of the wonderfully detailed are from Juan Jose Ryp, but to see a new title not written by Kirkman, rather David Schulner.  Continuing the great year of Sci-Fi books, Clone looks to be one to check out.

CLONE #1
story DAVID SCHULNER
art / cover JUAN JOSE RYP & FELIX SERRANO

NOVEMBER 14
32 PAGES / FC / T+
$2.99

From ROBERT KIRKMAN’s Skybound imprint, comes a sci-fi story like you’ve never seen before! Dr. Luke Taylor’s perfect life comes to a dramatic halt when an identical, bloodied version of himself arrives at his doorstep with news that he is one of many clones… and they’re all after his pregnant wife and their unborn child!

When the mini-series Who Is Jake Ellis took us all by storm, you just knew that there would be more and sure enough, here it is.  Nathan Edmondson re-unites with Tonci Zonjic for the next 5 issue mini-series, Where Is Jake Ellis, continuing the Bourne-esque espionage mystery thriller.

WHERE IS JAKE ELLIS? #1 (of 5)
story NATHAN EDMONDSON
art / cover  TONCI ZONJIC

NOVEMBER 14
32 PAGES / FC / T+
$3.50

“CHAPTER SIX,”

Jon is in hiding.  For almost a year, he has survived on his own in a remote corner of the world, but the powers behind the Facility have not forgotten him.  The most wanted man in the world is soon in the crosshairs of powerful and mysterious people, and he will not be able to stop them on his own.

 Jump On Here!

We’ve been teased for the past week that someone is going to die in Invincible #100, and the action kicks off here with Invincible #98 as it looks like Mark is back in the blue and black and ready to kick some ass. Invincible still stands as one of the best superhero comics around, even at issue #98.

INVINCIBLE #98

story ROBERT KIRKMAN
art RYAN OTTLEY
cover RYAN OTTLEY & JOHN RAUCH

NOVEMBER 21
32 PAGES / FC / T+
$2.99

“THE DEATH OF EVERYONE,” Part One

The countdown to issue #100 begins here – with the story that will change EVERYTHING for Invincible!  Mark’s powers have finally returned, just in time for every life on Earth to rest in his hands.  But what will happen when everyone learns that what is happening… is Mark’s fault?

 

The heat is getting turned up on the wonderful thriller Mind The Gap.  If you’ve heard us rave about it and have been curious, now is a great time to jump on as issue #6 is the start of a new arc and the perfect time to get caught up in the mystery.

MIND THE GAP #6
story JIM McCANN
art RODIN ESQUEJO

NOVEMBER 7
32 PAGES / FC / T+
$2.99

“WISH YOU WERE HERE,” Part One

New Arc! Great Jumping on point! Join the mystery everyone is talking about!!

As one person sits in a jail cell for the crime of attacking Elle Peterssen, the accuser is running free. Is a pawn about to become pain? Meanwhile, Elle is on the brink of contacting the physical world, but will resurfacing memories drive her further away? This issue begins the ending of many relationships as you know them, secrets laid bare, and not everyone will make it out in one piece…

If there was a theme song for Saga, it would be Depeche Mode’s “Just Can’t Get Enough”, because that’s exactly how we feel here at iFanboy HQ. The wait between issue #6 and issue #7 is going to be painful, but we know it will be worth it as the next chapter of the Sci-Fi Romance wonderfulness kicks off a new arc.

SAGA #7
story BRIAN K. VAUGHAN
art / cover  FIONA STAPLES

NOVEMBER 14
32 PAGES / FC / M
$2.99

Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples’ smash-hit ongoing series returns! An all-new adventure begins, as new parents Marko and Alana make an unexpected discovery in the vast emptiness of outer space.

You want hardcovers? You got ‘em

We’ve marveled at the crime noir teaming up of Ed Brubaker, Sean Phillips and Michael Lark numerous times and it all dates back to this, Scene of the Crime.  Long out of print, finally this classic gets a deluxe hardcover treatment and will absolutely be one you need to have for your collection.

SCENE OF THE CRIME DELUXE HC
writer ED BRUBAKER
art /cover MICHAEL LARK & SEAN PHILLIPS

NOVEMBER 14
128 PAGES / FC / OVERSIZED / M
$24.99

From the co-creators of Gotham Central and FATALE comes a lost crime noir masterpiece. Long out of print, and presented here for the first time in an oversized hardback edition, SCENE OF THE CRIME was the first time ED BRUBAKER and MICHAEL LARK worked together – before their acclaimed runs on Daredevil and Gotham Central – and it was inked by SEAN PHILLIPS, who also designed this deluxe edition.

This is where it all began, with a hard-hitting mystery story, a modernday “Chinatown” that garnered nominations for Best Miniseries and Best Writer in the 2000 Eisner Awards. Also included in this new collection are behind the scenes art and stories, a new foreword by BRUBAKER, and many other extras. This is the book you’ll want on your shelves.

One thing we’ve come to expect from Jimmy Palmiotti and Justin Gray is good, quality comics and it looks like Retrovirus will be the next in line. This hardcover graphic novel contains a self contained sci-fi story that’s got my attention. That Amanda Conner cover doesn’t hurt either.

RETROVIRUS HC
story JIMMY PALMIOTTI & JUSTIN GRAY
art NORBERTO FERNANDEZ
cover AMANDA CONNER

NOVEMBER 21
64 PAGES / FC / M
12.99

When Zoe, a brilliant young scientist who specializes in identifying extinct viruses, is offered a job at a remote research facility in Antarctica, she soon discovers her employer has unearthed a perfectly preserved Neanderthal. That is only one of the many dark secrets lurking at the facility as Zoe races against time to stop a global pandemic.

In the vein of Andromeda Strain, Altered States and Jurassic Park, RETROVIRUS seamlessly blends human drama, action, science fiction and horror in a 64 page graphic novel written by JIMMY PALMIOTTI & JUSTIN GRAY (QUEEN CRAB, JONAH HEX, CREATOR-OWNED HEROES)  and illustrated by NORBERTO FERNANDEZ (THE TATTERED MAN).


And that’s a wrap on our picks for Image Comics in November 2012, but there’s a ton more great comics coming and you can see the full November 2012 solicitations over at Image’s website.

 

Comments

  1. wangman31888 wangman31888 says:

    I WANT ALL OF THESE THINGS!!!

    except Mind the Gap (sorry)

  2. KenOchalek KenOchalek says:

    Oh man… that Saga cover.

    All I know is, sword wielding Esperanto speakers are NOT to be trifled with.

  3. JDC JDC says:

    Scene of the Crime sounds like a “must.”

  4. Smasher says:

    The Nowhere Men cover looks very close to the old Warner Bros. logo (http://bit.ly/PFd7jf)

  5. Bryce31 Bryce31 says:

    Image just keeps putting out the good material. Really want to get Retrovirus and read Eric Stephenson’s book.

  6. It’s not mentioned here but apparently in the same month Image are doing a complete collection of ‘The Couriers’ by Brian Wood which I am definitely down for!

  7. Excellent Amanda Conner cover there.

  8. Neb Neb says:

    Very stoked for the return of Jake Ellis. Image continues to release some great stuff, so I’m excited.

  9. Gotta get that Scene of the Crime HC. I might try The Clone. Juan Jose Ryp’s art is just so much fun to look at. Probably pick up the new Jake Ellis in trade. I liked the first one ok.

  10. brankel brankel says:

    Also out in November from Image is Comeback by Ed Brisson and Michael Walsh. http://www.imagecomics.com/comics/5144/Comeback-1-of-5-

    • Kmanifesto says:

      Thanks for that reminder. While in college, I had written a story with a similar theme (Agents used to go in time for select individuals). Can’t wait to check out Comeback!

  11. Kmanifesto says:

    Dear Image,

    Take my money….HERE! Take it ALL! That’s what you want, right?

    My youngest son Andrew asked if he could have $ .50 to get a Burger King ice cream cone and I had to say, “NO!…Image has all my money.”

    Signed,

    KManifesto

    p.s. Andrew says “Thanks Image”!

  12. I’m excited to see a new ongoing at Image with Clone. Cause it’s going to be gorgeous looking and also hilariously violent.

    Also, the mini ‘Strong Dogs’ looks pretty good too. A great creative team with David Hine and Doug Braithwaite. Hopefully people give that a look too.

  13. dbzmaster789 dbzmaster789 says:

    Yessssss! I can finally read Scene of the Crime, I loved the short story in Vertigo Winter’s Edge. Brubaker and Phillips cant fail!!!

  14. rafterman rafterman says:

    I wish it was Nowhere Man, based on the TV series starring Bruce Greenwood. Man, no matter what you think of the business or the big two, you have to admit there are amazing artists and writers putting out fantastic books these days.

  15. walterwhite walterwhite says:

    F’Yeah, Will be getting Clone

  16. Don’t forget Great Pacific! I’m looking forward to that series!

    And new Witch Doctor!!!

  17. tagalog3p tagalog3p says:

    JUAN JOSE RYP is an omac = one man artist corp . he does the detailed work of 100 trainned artists.
    I think he deserves the best writers. I only have bought his ‘black summer’ where he was fabulous.
    so I hope for the best.

    Long live RYP !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    INVINCIBLE and SCENE… Very good too.